Denny’s Vegan Options

Denny's Diner

Denny’s Vegan Options

With the addition of some plant-based options to their menu, eating vegan at Denny’s is incredibly easy!

Jump To Vegan Guide

When you think of a traditional American diner, plant-based isn’t the first thing that comes to mind. You think savory breakfasts, meat-centered lunch and dinner menus, and milkshakes, lots of milkshakes.

But Denny’s Diner has really stepped up their game when it comes to plant-based eating, as the chain restaurant offers plenty of vegan options to choose from.

The biggest change to their menu has to be the addition of the Beyond Burger. Order this vegan burger without cheese and sauce to make it vegan, and nobody would even be able to tell that you’re eating plant-based.

And not to mention, it’s way better than eating a side salad, which is usually one of the only options available to vegans at American-style restaurants.

To find Denny’s vegan options, you have to use their latest allergen menu and their nutrition menu. If you still can’t find the information you need, you can always contact Denny’s.

Denny’s Allergen Menu and Nutrition

Although I usually provide a link to this menu, I didn’t this time because they update the allergy menu frequently. By the time you read this, the link might not work!

The easiest way to find their allergen menu is to google “Denny’s allergen menu” and click on the link that takes you to their website only. Don’t click on any other links to different websites, because these posts are often outdated and can give you misleading information about what’s in the food you’re about to eat.

You can definitely find a link to it on their website, but this requires you to click on multiple links and put in your location, so it’s best to stick with the first method.

Denny’s allergen menu provides a list of every menu item in their restaurant and tells you which of the FDA’s top 8 allergens (plus gluten) are in that item.

The first four allergens listed — egg, fish, shellfish, and milk/dairy — are the ones you want to avoid if you’re eating vegan. But be careful, as these are not the only non-vegan ingredients out there.

All meat products will not be listed as containing any of these allergens, but they are clearly not vegan!

When this happens, there is another resource you can turn to for help: Denny’s Nutrition Guide.

Nutrition Guide

Denny’s nutrition guide can be helpful in finding vegan options by eliminating those with animal products. You can do this by looking for one key piece of information: cholesterol.

Dietary cholesterol is only found in animal products. Therefore, if a menu item has cholesterol, it cannot be vegan.

Again, this might be true for how it is usually served, but your server might help you modify the menu item to make it vegan.

Vegan Options

It may not be perfect, but compared to many other restaurants, the outlook is good for vegans who want to eat at Denny’s.

Because they already took initiative to add a vegan burger to their menu, it shows that they are willing to modify their menu to help vegans find satisfying options that fit their diet.

So don’t be afraid to ask questions, whether that be to customer service or to your server. Your specific restaurant may be able to modify some menu items so that they are vegan!

Don’t worry about doing a ton of research to find all the vegan Denny’s options. I already did this for you!

Check out my easy, interactive guide to eating vegan at Denny’s below along with frequently asked questions about their plant-based options!


Denny’s Vegan Menu




Breakfast Grand Slams

  • Build Your Own Grand Slam
    • Choose four of the following:
      • 2 Slices of Toast (7-grain bread and potato bread only)
      • English Muffin (regular is vegan; gluten-free is not)
      • Hash Browns
      • Grits (with no butter blend)
      • Oatmeal
      • Fresh Fruit (premium item)


Breakfast Skillets

  • Fit Fare Veggie Sizzlin’ Skillet (ask for no egg whites)
    • Seasoned red-skinned potatoes, fire-roasted bell peppers & onions, mushrooms, and broccoli. Scrambled with fresh spinach and grape tomatoes. Served with a side of salsa.
    • You can ask for other veggies from other skillets.


Breakfast Sides

  • Toast (7-grain and potato only)
  • English Muffin (only regular — not the gluten-free version)
  • Hash browns
  • Red-skinned potatoes (ask that they are cooked in oil)
  • Grits (ask for no butter)
  • Oatmeal
  • Seasonal Fruit
    • Other available sides not listed (may cost extra):
      • avocado
      • tomatoes
      • pico de gallo
      • jalapeños
      • fresh spinach
      • caramelized onions
      • fire-roasted bell peppers and onions





  • House Salad (ask for no croutons and no cheese)


Salad Dressings

  • Low-Fat Balsamic Vinaigrette
  • French dressing
  • Fat-Free Italian Dressing
  • Oil and Vinegar



  • Build Your Own Burger 
    • Pick Your Patty:
      • Dr. Praeger’s Veggie Patty
      • Beyond Burger Patty
    • Pick Your Bun:
      • Brioche bun
      • Multigrain Bun
    • Add toppings:
      • caramelized onions
      • jalapeños
      • tomatoes
      • lettuce
      • red onions
      • fresh avocados (premium)
      • sautéed mushrooms (premium)
    • Sauces:
      • BBQ Sauce
      • Bourbon Sauce
      • Five-Pepper Sauce
      • Heinz ketchup
      • Hot Pepper Sauce: Green
      • Hot Pepper Sauce: Red
      • Mango Habanero Sauce


Dinner Skillets

  • Bourbon Chicken Sizzlin’ Skillet (ask for no chicken)
    • Fire-roasted bell peppers & onions and mushrooms atop broccoli and seasoned red-skinned potatoes, topped with bourbon glaze.


Dinner Sides

  • broccoli
  • wavy-cut fries
  • red-skinned potatoes (ask that they are cooked in oil)
  • Whole Grain Rice Blend
  • Sweet Petite Corn
  • Fresh sautéed Zucchini and Squash
  • Side Garden Salad


Frequently Asked Questions

Is Denny’s gluten-free English muffin vegan?

No, Denny’s gluten-free English muffin is not vegan. Only their regular English muffin is plant-based.

Are Denny’s onion rings vegan?

No, Denny’s onion rings are not plant-based because they contain milk.

Is Denny’s multigrain bun vegan?

Yes, the multigrain bun is vegan!

Are Dennys sautéed mushrooms and caramelized onions vegan?

Yes, both of these items are vegan! Just always tell your server of your dietary restrictions as they may cook some items in bacon grease.

If you liked this guide, check out more of my Vegan Restaurant Guides!

Menu items are always subject to change — if you see any new vegan options or any menu items that are no longer available, please contact me or leave a comment below!

Leave a Comment