Firehouse Subs Vegan Options

firehouse subs vegan options

Firehouse Subs Vegan Options

While Firehouse Subs generally accommodates omnivores, you can still build your own plant-based sub here! Keep reading to find out how to eat vegan at Firehouse Subs!

Jump To Vegan Firehouse Subs Guide

I’ve gone through many allergen guides in search of plant-based products, and Firehouse Subs has an incredibly helpful one! You often have to go through every product at a restaurant, but with the Firehouse Subs Allergen Guide, you can filter it so it only shows the products you can eat!

To find the Firehouse Subs Vegan Options, I filtered their allergy menu to only show products without eggs, fish, milk, and shellfish. These were the only non-vegan allergens available to filter.

But watch out, as these four allergens are not the only non-vegan ingredients. For example, lunchmeats will still be listed on this filtered menu, but they are obviously not plant-based.

How to Tell if Something at Firehouse Subs is Vegan

A bigger concern is honey, as it is not as easy to tell if this non-vegan ingredient has been added to a sauce or bread. But after some digging, I figured out how to see all of the ingredients in any Firehouse Subs menu item.

While you are on the allergen guide, there will be a “read more” link for every option listed. If you click on this, you will be able to see the ingredients list for that option.

This is how I found out that the wheat bread is NOT vegan! It contains honey.

Ingredients in the what sub at firehouse subs
The wheat sub at this restaurant is NOT vegan. It contains dry honey, which is an animal product.

So although the allergen guide is helpful, it does not verify if something is vegan. You have to do more research for yourself.

Or, check out my easy Firehouse Subs Vegan Menu, where I did all of the research for you!


Guide: Firehouse Subs Vegan Menu

Table of Contents (click to jump)


Build Your Own Sub

  • Veggie (without mayonnaise and cheese)



  • White sub roll
  • Gluten-free sub roll



  • balsamic dressing
  • cajun seasoning
  • Italian salad dressing
  • marinara sauce
  • spicy mustard
  • sriracha sauce
  • Sweet Baby Ray’s BBQ Sauce



  • avocado
  • cherry pepper rings
  • chopped green peppers
  • pickle spear
  • iceberg lettuce
  • onion
  • tomato
  • Add-On Toppings:
    • banana peppers
    • black olives
    • jalepeño peppers
    • oil and vinegar dressing



  • side salad
  • chips (Lay’s, Baked Lay’s – may vary by location)


Salad Dressings

  • Balsamic Dressing
  • Italian Dressing
  • Oil and Vinegar

Frequently Asked Questions

Is Firehouse Subs bread vegan?

  • Only their white and gluten-free breads are vegan. The wheat bread sub is NOT vegan, as it contains honey.

Are Firehouse Subs mushrooms vegan?

  • Yes, the au jus mushrooms are vegan, because they are made with vegetarian Worcestershire sauce. However, the au jus onions and bell peppers are not vegan because they contain disodium inosinate and guanylate, which is most often made with fish.

Do they have vegan cheese?

  • No, they do not have any vegan cheese options at the time of writing this post.

If you liked this guide, check out more of my Vegan Restaurant Guides!

Menu items are always subject to change — if you see any new vegan options or any menu items that are no longer available, please contact me or leave a comment below!

Leave a Comment