IHOP Vegan Options


IHOP Vegan Options

As of now, vegans can’t order a stack of pancakes at this pancake house. But don’t worry, there are plenty of other IHOP vegan options to choose from.

Jump To Vegan Guide

With over 10 different types of pancakes, it’s a shame that there are no vegan pancake options at IHOP. But with the rise in popularity for vegan products, we may see a vegan pancake option soon.

If a new plant-based option becomes available, I’ll update this guide as soon as possible to reflect all of the vegan options at IHOP.

Even though the most popular menu item isn’t vegan friendly, you should have no trouble putting together a plant-based meal at this restaurant.

There are more breakfast foods than pancakes, many of which are naturally vegan, such as hashbrowns and fresh fruit.

This vegan guide was created using a combination of IHOP’s allergen menu and their nutrition guide. For any other remaining questions, I contacted IHOP to clear things up, and I encourage you to contact customer support with any questions you have.

While I tried to be as accurate as possible in creating this vegan guide, menu items and ingredients can change at any time. Furthermore, there is always a chance of cross-contamination when eating at a restaurant, so always tell your server about any dietary restrictions before you order.

IHOP Allergen Menu

The IHOP Allergen Menu is the single best resource to use to find vegan IHOP options. It is interactive, meaning you click on the allergens you would like to avoid, and they will filter the menu to show you items you can and cannot order.

This is extremely helpful in narrowing down vegan options; however, not all non-vegan ingredients can be eliminated. For example, there is no option to filter out products containing meat.

Luckily, this allergen menu allows you to see every ingredient included in almost any menu item! That way you can be absolutely sure that it is vegan-friendly.

To see the ingredients in a menu item, simply click “more info” in the allergen guide. A pop-up will appear that includes a list of ingredients, along with nutrition info.

IHOP Nutrition

When it comes to finding nutrition information at IHOP, the allergen menu is also really helpful. Not only does the “more info” pop-up show the ingredients, but it also shows a full nutrition label for the product.

If you want a more direct resource, check out this guide: IHOP Menu Nutrition Facts. This is a complete list of menu items with nutrition information, such as total calories, fat, cholesterol, and more.

Like the allergen menu, you can click “more info” to see a complete list of ingredients in a menu item.

Nutrition information is helpful for eliminating non-vegan options at restaurants. If you come across a menu item that contains dietary cholesterol, you can be sure the product is not vegan, because only animal products contain cholesterol.

Vegan Options

If you have the time, you can go through all of these resources and narrow down the vegan IHOP options, but this is very time-consuming.

I’ve already gone through all of these resources and have compiled a list of all the plant-based options at IHOP. Use the guide below to make eating vegan at this pancake house much easier!


Vegan IHOP Menu





  • Hash Browns
  • Fresh Fruit Bowl
  • Toast (sourdough bread only)
  • Crispy Potato Pancakes
  • Grits


Toppings and Add-Ons

  • avocado
  • tomato
  • salsa
  • sauteed spinach
  • sauteed mushrooms
  • sauteed green peppers and onions
  • jam





  • House Salad (with a vegan dressing option)


Salad Dressings

  • Creamy Italian
  • Fat-Free Catalina Dressing
  • Fat-Free French Dressing
  • Raspberry Vinaigrette



  • Baked Potato (ask for butter alternative)
  • corn tortilla
  • flour tortilla
  • steamed broccoli


Toppings and Add-Ons

  • avocado
  • tomato
  • salsa
  • sauteed spinach
  • sauteed mushrooms
  • uncooked mushrooms (for salad)
  • sauteed green peppers and onions
  • jam


Vegan IHOP Meal Ideas

Breakfast Ideas

Eating plant-based for breakfast at IHOP means you basically have to create a meal out of their sides. It doesn’t’ seem like much when you first look at the list of ingredients available to you, but you can combine them to create a more satisfying meal.

Here are some breakfast options you can make out of their sides and toppings:

Loaded Avocado Toast

Ask for toast with sourdough bread (and no butter, of course) and load it up with toppings. You can add avocado, tomatoes, and even spinach, mushrooms, and onions.

You can keep the veggies sauteed if you want, but I’m sure they’ll bring them to you raw if you prefer your avocado toast that way!

Loaded Hashbrowns

You don’t just have to ask for a side of hash browns — you can get them with other toppings to spice things up!

Try asking for hash browns with your choice of vegan toppings (like mushrooms, peppers, onions, and spinach). You can even ask for some salsa on the side to give it a southwest flavor.

Lunch/Dinner Ideas

Because IHOP is a breakfast-focused restaurant, it’s much easier to create meals out of breakfast sides than lunch and dinner sides.

However, if you find yourself at this pancake house and need to find something vegan, here’s something you can do:

Veggie Wrap

Create your own veggie wrap with a combination of IHOP’s sides! Ask for a corn or flour tortilla and flavor it however you like.

Some things you can ask for are avocados, tomatoes, onions, peppers, mushrooms, and spinach.

And don’t forget to ask for a side! Try out the house salad with any one of IHOP’s plant-based dressing options. Alternatively, you can have a baked potato (although the toppings are limited).


Frequently Asked Questions

Are IHOP potato pancakes vegan?

Yes, the potato pancakes are vegan!

Is IHOP toast vegan?

Only the sourdough toast is vegan. Be sure to ask for no butter.

Does IHOP have veggie burgers?

IHOP does not have any veggie burgers at this time.

Are IHOP seasoned french fries vegan?

Many sources claim that IHOP seasoned french fries are vegan, and while they do not contain any of the major allergens that would make them non-vegan, they do contain a small amount of cholesterol.

Because dietary cholesterol can only come from an animal source, I reached out to IHOP to ask them about the fries. I have not heard back from them yet, but I will update this when I do.

Are IHOP onion rings vegan?

No, the onion rings are not vegan because they contain milk.

If you liked this guide, check out more of my Vegan Restaurant Guides!

Menu items are always subject to change — if you see any new vegan options or any menu items that are no longer available, please contact me or leave a comment below!

Leave a Comment