Is BBQ Sauce Always Vegan?
Many store-bought barbecue sauces are vegan, but there are also many brands that include animal products in their BBQ sauces.
Some animal-derived ingredients are obvious, such as honey and anchovies, but other animal products are harder to spot.
Luckily, many popular brands of BBQ sauce that you can find in many major grocery stores are vegan-friendly. But, you also have the option of going to a specialty foods store and choosing healthier, certified vegan BBQ sauce brands.
Both of these varieties are included in this list, with the most popular brands listed first. Because brands often have many different varieties of barbecue sauces, if there are any non-vegan varieties, I’ve listed these so you know which flavors to stay away from.
Note: Because non-organic sugar is plant-based but not always vegan, I’ve included plant-based BBQ sauces with non-organic sugar in this list, but I’ve marked them with an asterisk (*). That way strict vegans can stay away from these brands but people on a plant-based diet can still buy them.
This list is for informational purposes only. All ingredients are subject to change, so be sure to always read ingredient labels before purchasing to ensure that they are vegan.
Vegan Barbecue Sauce Brands List
Kraft barbecue sauce is one of the most popular brands, and the original flavor is completely vegan! There are no hidden animal products like “natural flavor” and you can find this brand almost anywhere.
But, not all Kraft BBQ sauce is vegan. Stick with the ones listed as vegan below, and watch out for those containing honey.
Where to Buy: You can buy Kraft barbecue sauce at almost any major grocery store, including Walmart, Kroger, and Publix!
Vegan Kraft BBQ Sauces:
- Original Slow-Simmered Barbecue Sauce & Dip
- Hickory Smoke Slow-Simmered Barbecue Sauce & Dip
- Sweet & Spicy Barbecue Sauce
- Sweet Brown Sugar Barbecue Sauce & Dip *
Kraft BBQ Sauces that Aren’t Vegan:
- Sweet Honey Slow-Simmered Barbecue Sauce & Dip
- Mesquite Smoke Barbecue Sauce
- Spicy Honey Slow-Simmered Barbecue Sauce & Dip
Many of Bull’s-Eye barbecue sauces are plant-based! The bad news is that they contain non-organic sugar, so we can’t say for sure that these are vegan because we don’t know how the sugar was processed.
If you’re on a plant-based diet, feel free to cook with any of the plant-based BBQ sauces listed, but strict vegans should stay away from all of them, unless you contact the manufacturer and they assure you that the sugar is vegan. (But in many cases, the manufacturer doesn’t know how the sugar was sourced.)
Where to Buy: You can buy Bull’s Eye barbecue sauces at almost any major grocery store. If you’re looking for a specific product, be sure to check out their product locator, which can be found on any product page on their site.
Bull’s-Eye Plant-Based BBQ Sauces:
- Original BBQ Sauce *
- New York Steakhouse BBQ Sauce *
- Smokey Chipotle BBQ Sauce *
- Roasted Onion BBQ Sauce *
Bull’s-Eye BBQ Sauces that are Not Plant-Based:
- Smokey Bacon BBQ Sauce
- Tennessee Style Sweet Whiskey BBQ Sauce
- Hickory Brown Sugar BBQ Sauce (flavoring may be animal-derived)
- Dark Beer BBQ Sauce (flavoring may be animal-derived)
Stubb’s barbecue sauces are very popular and easy to find in the US! And while they are not labeled “vegan” on the packaging, they have a FAQ question on their FAQ page about which of their products are vegan-friendly. Here is the answer:
As ingredients and formulas can change from time to time, please contact us regarding the vegan diet suitability of a particular product.
So, if you want to know for sure about a particular product, just contact Stubb’s directly. I already contacted them because I was concerned about the “natural flavor” and sugar in some of their sauces, and this is what they said:
We are pleased to inform you that our Stubb’s Original Bar-B-Q Sauce is suitable for a vegan diet.
Because the sugar and natural flavor were vegan-friendly, I feel confident that other products with these added ingredients are plant-based as well. But, it’s up to you if you want to contact them!
Where to Buy: You can buy Stubb’s BBQ sauce at almost any major grocery store, including Walmart and Target. If you’re looking for a specific product, be sure to check out their product locator that can be found on any product page on their site.
Stubb’s Vegan BBQ Sauces:
- Original Bar-B-Q Sauce
- Dr. Pepper Legendary Bar-B-Q Sauce *
- Hickory Bourbon Bar-B-Q Sauce *
- Simply Sweet Reduced Sugar BBQ Sauce *
- Smoky Brown Sugar BBQ Sauce *
- Spicy Bar-B-Q Sauce *
- Sticky Sweet Bar-B-Q Sauce *
Stubb’s BBQ Sauces that are Not Vegan:
- Smokey Mesquite Bar-B-Q Sauce
- Sweet Heat Bar-B-Q Sauce
- Sweet Honey & Spice Legendary Bar-B-Q Sauce
All Annie’s barbecue sauces are certified vegan and organic. They might be a little harder to find than the big brands, but they are available for purchase at many different stores and are a healthier option when it comes to condiments!
Where to Buy: You can buy Annie’s barbecue sauces at select general grocery stores (usually not Walmart) and nearly all health food stores. Check out their convenient product locator to find Annie’s BBQ sauces near you!
Annie’s Vegan BBQ Sauces:
- Original BBQ Sauce
- Smoky Maple BBQ Sauce
- Sweet & Spicy BBQ Sauce
Primal Kitchen is a brand that makes paleo-friendly foods, but many of their products are accidentally vegan. Some Primal Kitchen barbecue sauces are certified vegan, but others are not.
However, they are always clearly labeled both on the bottles an on their website so you can easily tell if one of their products is vegan or not! Primal Kitchen is another healthy vegan barbecue sauce option because of minimal processing and clean, organic ingredients.
Where to Buy: You can buy Primal Kitchen products at select grocery stores (including Target) and at most health food stores. Use their product locator to find Primal Kitchen BBQ sauces or other products near you!
Primal Kitchen Vegan BBQ Sauces:
- Classic BBQ Sauce
- Golden BBQ Sauce
Primal Kitchen BBQ Sauces that are Not Vegan:
- Hawaiian Style BBQ Sauce
- Mango Jalapeño BBQ Sauce
Organicville products are all (you guessed it) organic, and most of them are vegan too! All flavors of Organicville barbecue sauces are certified vegan.
This is a great brand to buy from if you’re looking for a certified vegan barbecue sauce that is easy to find. Not many specialty barbecue sauces are in big grocery stores, but Organicville is an exception!
Where to Buy: You can buy Organicville products at select grocery stores, including Publix, Whole Foods, Kroger, Walmart (some), Food Lion, and more, although it varies by location. Use their store locator to find products near you.
Organicville Vegan BBQ Sauces:
- Original BBQ Sauce
- Tangy BBQ Sauce
Fody Foods products are made for those with digestive troubles and need to be on special diets. Because one of those digestive troubles is being sensitive to dairy, many of their products are vegan friendly.
Fody Foods barbecue sauces are all certified vegan as well as low-FODMAP certified. This is the perfect brand for you if you are on a low-FODMAP diet as a vegan or vegetarian (which can be very tricky!).
Where to Buy: You can buy Fody Foods products at many health food stores as well as some popular grocery stores. Use their store locator to find Fody Foods products closest to you!
Fody Foods Vegan BBQ Sauces:
- Original BBQ Sauce
- Maple BBQ Sauce
- Chipotle BBQ Sauce Unsweetened
- Korean BBQ Sauce & Marinade
If you liked this Vegan BBQ Sauce brands guide, check out my other Vegan Food Brands Guides!