Is Ghee Vegan?
Ghee is Indian clarified butter, and it is made by removing the milk solids and water from butter so that only pure butterfat remains. Because it is made from regular butter, most brands of ghee are not vegan-friendly.
Luckily, a few brands have come out with vegan ghee products! These vegan ghee brands are made from plant-based oils (usually coconut and avocado oils) instead of dairy products.
If you’re looking for a vegan ghee substitute, this list will help you find a brand that suits your diet and let you know where to buy it in stores and online! For each brand, read the description to see if it has any food certifications, like certified vegan, gluten-free, organic, keto, and more!
Note: These are brands that are sold in the USA. Other brands like Fushi (UK) and Niulife (Australia) are available in other countries but not included on this list.
Add these vegan ghee alternatives to curries for extra richness. Or, use plant-based ghee as an oil replacement — it has a high smoke point and won’t burn like regular butter or plant-based butter usually does.
Ingredients are subject to change, so be sure to read the most updated label information before purchasing any of the products on this list.
Vegan Ghee Brands
Nutiva Organic Plant-Based Ghee
Nutiva is one of the most well-known vegan ghee brands, and it is USDA certified organic, certified vegan, non-GMO, Keto, and Whole 30 approved! It is made from a combination of coconut and avocado oils.
Use Nutiva’s product locator to find this plant-based ghee in a store near you, or have it delivered to your door with one of the above online retailers!
Trader Joe’s Vegan Ghee Alternative
If you shop at Trader Joe’s, you can get a bottle of TJ’s Organic Coconut & Avocado Oil Blend (A Vegan Ghee Alternative). This product is only sold at Trader Joe’s, and it is USDA certified organic!
Buy Online: Livlo
Livlo Foods makes low carb, clean-label foods, and they recently released a new line of nut butters & spreads — including an organic vegan ghee! It is USDA organic, gluten-free, and keto-friendly. Because it is new, it is not found in many stores as of now.