Vegan Hoisin Sauce Brands

Vegan Hoisin Sauce Brands

Is Hoisin Sauce Vegan?

Hoisin sauce is a necessary ingredient in many Asian dishes, but it can sometimes contain animal products (most likely fish products). But if you’re vegan, you don’t have to skip this ingredient because there are many vegan hoisin sauce brands to choose from!

Even though hoisin sauce is the same color as soy sauce, it is much thicker and has a sweet flavor. You can use this condiment to make Asian sauces, glazes for tofu, flavor stir fries, or simply use it as a dipping sauce.

The hoisin sauces on this list are entirely plant-based, and they are labeled vegan on either the brand’s website or on the bottle itself. That way, there is no confusion about questionable ingredients like “natural flavors” or “seasonings” that might be derived from animals.

For each vegan hoisin sauce brand on this list, I’ll list some popular grocery stores that sell the product as well as link a product locator (if available) so that you can quickly find the store closest to you that sells that brand. I’ll also list any other certifications, such as Kosher, organic, non-GMO, gluten-free, and soy-free!

Ingredients can change at any time. Be sure to check product labels, allergen warnings, and certifications before buying any of the products on this list.


Vegan Hoisin Sauce Brands

Premier Japan Hoisin Sauce

Premier Japan Hoisin Sauce

Buy Online: Edward & Sons

If you are looking for a great all-purpose vegan hoisin sauce or a gluten-free vegan hoisin sauce, check out Premier Japan! Premier Japan Hoisin sauce is certified organic, gluten-free, and vegan.

You can find Premier Japan Hoisin at select stores including some Whole Foods, QFC, Kroger and Kroger affiliates (like QFC, Ralphs, and Fred Meyer), and others. The easiest way is to buy it online at a retailer like Edward & Sons.

Soy Vay Hoisin Garlic Marinade & Sauce

Soy Vay Hoisin Garlic Marinade and Sauce

If you don’t mind your hoisin being a little extra garlicky, give Soy Vay Hoisin sauce a try! Soy Vay Hoisin Marinade & sauce is labeled vegan on their website (see for yourself), but not labeled on the bottle. In addition to being vegan friendly, it is also Kosher certified.

Soy Vay Hoisin sauce is pretty easy to find. Look for it in stores like Walmart, Target, Kroger and affiliates, Albertsons and affiliates, Hy-Vee, Publix, and more.

365 Whole Foods Market

365 Whole Foods Market Hoisin

Buy Online: Amazon Prime Whole Foods Delivery

If you have a Whole Foods Market nearby, Whole Foods’ own brand (365) has their own vegan hoisin sauce brand! It is also USDA organic.

You can only buy this dairy-free hoisin sauce in stores at Whole Foods Markets. Check here to see if you have a Whole Foods nearby. If you do, you can also have this product shipped to you with Amazon Prime Whole Foods delivery.

Coconut Secret Coconut Aminos Hoisin Sauce

Coconut Secret coconut aminos soy sauce

Buy Online: Amazon

Coconut Secret is the ultimate allergy friendly brand. Their Coconut Aminos Hoisin (and many of their other products) are organic, gluten-free, vegan, soy-free, and Kosher! Choose this brand if you or anybody you are cooking for has food sensitivities or allergies.

You can buy Coconut Secret hoisin sauce at select stores like Whole Foods, Kroger, Walmart, Target, and more! You can also buy this product online from the Coconut Secret website or from Amazon!

Lee Kum Kee Vegetarian Hoisin Sauce

Lee Kum Kee Vegetarian Hoisin Sauce

Buy Online: Amazon

Even though the bottle says “vegetarian,” Lee Kum Kee’s Vegetarian Hoisin sauce is labeled vegan and Kosher on their site! The ingredients look pretty clean, but the only ingredient that concerns me is the sugar because it is non-organic and therefore may be processed with bone char. But, whether you choose to purchase this product is up to you!

Lee Kum Kee vegetarian hoisin sauce can be found in stores like Walmart and 99 Ranch Market. You can also buy this product from Amazon from their official Amazon store!

Related Posts:

Leave a Comment