Are Marshmallows Vegan?
Most brands of marshmallows you find at the grocery store are not vegan-friendly. These products often contain gelatin — a common food gelling agent or thickener that is obtained from animal collagen.
Gelatin is often used because marshmallows need a thickener to bind the ingredients together and hold their shape. Some brands have started swapping gelatin for a plant-based gelling agent: carrageenan. Carrageenan is an extract of red seaweed and has similar properties to gelatin while being vegan-friendly.
All of the products on this list are vegan marshmallow brands. These marshmallows hold their shape with the help of carrageenan instead of gelatin, making them entirely plant-based!
In the descriptions for each of these vegan marshmallows, you can learn if a brand has both regular and mini marshmallow sizes, different flavor varieties, and other certifications like sugar-free, gluten-free, Kosher, and more!
Ingredients can change at any time, so always be sure to read the most updated label info, including ingredients, allergen warnings, certifications, and more before purchasing any of the products on this list.
Vegan Marshmallows Brands
Dandies vegan marshmallows should be your go-to brand when looking for plant-based marshmallows! All of Dandies products are vegan, Kosher, gluten-free, non-GMO, and free from artificial flavors and colors. Try the classic or mini vegan marshmallows or one of their flavored marshmallow varieties like maple, pumpkin, or peppermint.
You can find Dandies vegan marshmallows at most health food stores like Sprouts, The Fresh Market, Whole Foods, and more. You can also find them at other select grocery stores (including Walmart) using Dandies product locator. If you prefer to order online, check out one of the online retailers listed above!
Max Vegan Mallow vegan marshmallows are next up on the list, and they have one thing that the other plant-based marshmallow products don’t: they are sugar-free! These vegan marshmallows are not only vegan, but they are also sugar-free, keto, paleo, diabetic-friendly, and have zero net carbs!
You might be able to find these plant-based marshmallows at a grocery store near you using Max Sweets store locator, but you’ll probably have more luck ordering these online. You can order them from Amazon or directly from Max Sweets!
Yummallo Vegan Marshmallows
Buy Online: Walmart
As long as you’re just looking for regular marshmallows that are plant-based, another great option is Yummallo Vegan Marshmallows! These marshmallows are vegan-friendly, gluten-free, peanut-free, and free from artificial flavors and colors. Yummallo only makes one variety of vegan marshmallows, so make sure you choose the right bag.
You can buy Yummallo vegan marshmallows at select stores, most notably Walmart. See if it’s available at a Walmart near you by clicking this link and selecting “check availability nearby.”
Trader Joe’s Marshmallows
If you have a Trader Joe’s nearby, their marshmallows and mini marshmallows are vegan and gluten free! Like many Trader Joe’s products, these marshmallows will only be around seasonally, so look for them in the winter and summer months!