Vegan Oyster Sauce Substitutes

Vegan Oyster Sauce Brands

What Is Vegan Oyster Sauce?

Vegan Oyster Sauce Brands are obviously not made from actual oysters. Instead, these substitutes are umami-rich sauces that add flavor to a dish in a similar way to actual oyster sauces.

Mushrooms are the most common ingredient that gives these vegan oyster sauce substitutes their flavor, so any “mushroom sauce” will do the trick.

As of now, there are no oyster sauce products labeled “vegan,” but there are some that are labeled vegetarian. Even though they are labeled vegetarian, the ingredients are all vegan, so you can feel confident that those sauces are vegan friendly.

If you don’t trust a sauce labeled vegetarian instead of vegan, any umami-enhancing sauce or powder should be a good substitute for oyster sauce. But if you want a pre-made plant-based oyster sauce substitute, see the list below! Or, check out my list of Vegan Fish Sauce Brands!

Ingredients can change at any time, so be sure to read the most updated label information before purchasing any of the products on this list. Also, as said before, these products are labeled vegetarian but are more than likely vegan as well. It is up to you if you choose to consume them!


Vegan Oyster Sauce Brands

Kikkoman Vegetarian Flavored Oyster Sauce

Kikkoman Vegetarian Oyster Flavored Sauce

Kikkoman Vegetarian Flavored Oyster Sauce is not flavored with oysters or mushrooms. Instead, they keep it simple with soy sauce as the main flavor enhancer. The ingredients appear to be plant-based, but if you want to decide for yourself, the ingredients list is in the photo!

Ingredients like “natural flavors” can sometimes be animal-derived, but because this is already vegetarian and dairy products are seldom used in Asian cuisine, these ingredients are more than likely plant-derived. This product is also labeled gluten free.

You can find this sauce in many grocery stores, including Walmart, Kroger, Hy-Vee, Target, Publix, and more. Use Kikkoman’s product locator to find a store near you that carries this vegetarian oyster sauce.

Wan Ja Shan Vegetarian Mushroom Oyster Sauce

Wan Ja Shan Vegetarian Mushroom Oyster Sauce

If you want a vegan oyster sauce that is flavored with mushrooms, check out Wan Ja Shan! I had trouble finding an official website for this brand, but you can find the ingredients on a number of websites. All ingredients check out as plant-based even though this product is labeled vegetarian.

You can find Wan Ja Shan products at select stores. Some Walmart stores carry this vegan oyster sauce, but you can also check local Asian supermarkets like 99 Ranch Market.

Related Posts:

Leave a Comment