Vegan Pie Crusts
No matter what kind of pie you’re trying to make — be it pumpkin, apple, pecan, key lime, or berry — make your life easier by picking up a store-bought vegan pie crust to save some time!
Not all premade pie crusts are vegan-friendly. Some contain dairy products like butter or milk, while others contain animal ingredients like eggs and lard. And then there are those pie crusts that have tricky ingredients that may or may not be vegan-friendly, including non-organic sugar, mono- and diglycerides, certain dyes, and more.
This list of vegan pie crust brands will hopefully help you find a pie crust that is suitable for your diet. Be sure to read the description for each brand, because if there are any special notes about the brand (like if it’s allergy-friendly or contains an ingredient that may not be vegan), I’ll list that information in the description.
There are three sections to this vegan pie crust guide:
- The first section of pie crusts are completely vegan-friendly — they are either labeled vegan, contain no questionable ingredients, or have confirmed on their FAQ page that the ingredients come from plant sources.
- The second section contains pie crusts that are plant-based but cannot be guaranteed vegan because they have an ingredient (like sugar) that is plant-based but may or may not be 100% vegan.
- The last section contains popular pie crust brands that are neither vegan nor plant-based because they clearly contain animal products. Stay away from these!
For those of you looking for a gluten-free vegan pie crust, any pie crust that is vegan and also gluten-free will have (GF) written next to it.
If you are interested in purchasing a specific brand of pie crust, be sure to check the “where to buy” section for that brand. Here I’ll list some popular grocery stores you can buy these pie crusts from. And if there are any online buying options, I’ll link those as well!
Product ingredients can change at any time, and it’s impossible to keep this list completely updated. Always read ingredient lists and allergen warnings before purchasing any of the products on this guide.
Vegan Pie Crust Brands List
Wholly Wholesome pie crusts have been recently coming to many grocery stores, and they are all certified vegan! They even have a vegan gluten-free pie crust make from spelt flour! Choose between 9″ traditional, whole wheat, or gluten-free pie shells, or get a mini 6″ traditional pie shell!
Where to Buy: You can buy Wholly Wholesome products at many grocery stores including Whole Foods and Publix! Use their store locator to find pie shells near you!
Wholly Wholesome Vegan Pie Crusts:
- Organic Traditional Pie Shells (9″ or 6″)
- Organic Whole Wheat Pie Shells 9″
- Organic Spelt Pie Shells 9″ (GF)
All MI-DEL pie crusts are all certified vegan and gluten-free, and if you want a unique type of pie crust, they have some interesting flavors to choose from! While there is no “traditional” flour pie crust, you can choose between their vegan graham cracker pie crust, chocolate crust, or ginger crust!
Where to Buy: Because it’s one of the easier pie crusts to find you can buy MI-DEL products at many grocery stores including Walmart, Kroger, Publix, Winn Dixie, and Giant Eagle. Use their store locator to find a location near you.
MI-DEL Vegan Pie Crusts:
- Graham Style (GF)
- Chocolate Snap (GF)
- Ginger Snap (GF)
Marie Callender’s Pastry Pie shells are vegan friendly, although they are not labeled vegan. None of the ingredients are questionable, and there is no allergen warning about dairy or eggs, so if you don’t mind it not being “certified,” go ahead and pick up this pie crust at the store!
Where to Buy: You can buy Marie Callender’s products at most grocery stores, including Walmart, Target, Publix, Winn Dixie! Use their store locator to find a location near you.
Marie Callender’s Vegan Pie Crusts:
- Deep Dish Pastry Pie Shells
Note: The following pie crusts are plant-based but cannot be guaranteed vegan because they have one or more ingredients that may or may not be completely vegan, like non-organic sugar. If you are on a plant-based diet but not strictly vegan, these brands are fine for you. If you are strictly vegan, stick with the brands above!
Keebler pie crusts have longer ingredient lists than the above pie crusts, but surprisingly have no obvious animal products! These pie crusts are ready to eat, meaning they do not require baking and are better for dessert pies.
There is no allergen warning for dairy or eggs, and the only ingredient that may not be vegan is sugar (since it is not organic, it might be processed with bone char). But except for the sugar, all three varieties of Keebler pie crusts are plant-based!
Where to Buy: You can buy Keebler products at many grocery stores including Walmart, Target, Publix, Kroger, Meijer, and more! Their store locator mainly shows you where you can buy products online, but it’s tricky to find an actual store that carries the products. Check with your local grocery store to see if they carry these pie crusts!
Keebler Plant-Based Pie Crusts:
- Ready Crust Shortbread
- Graham Cracker (includes Ready Crust, Low Fat, and Mini Pie Crusts)
- Ready Crust Chocolate
Signature Select Deep Dish Pie Crusts
Signature Select Deep Dish Pie Crusts are plant-based! The only ingredient that is possibly not vegan is the sugar because it is not certified organic. Be careful though, only the deep dish pie crusts (pictured) are plant-based. The boxed pie crusts (that are boxed and you have to unroll and bake) contain lard and are not plant-based or vegan.
Where to Buy: I couldn’t find a store locator anywhere, so check on your local store’s website to see if they carry these pie crusts.
Signature Select Plant-Based Pie Crusts:
- Deep Dish Pie Crusts
- Pie Crusts (boxed, unroll and bake variety)
Wewalka pie crust is proudly “flaky & lard free,” and if you take a look at the ingredients, plant-based! The sugar is not organic, so it cannot be claimed to be “vegan,” but other than that, there are no other possible animal products listed. There is an allergen warning that states “may contain traces of milk,” but that just means that there is a small chance of cross-contamination.
Where to Buy: You can buy Wewalka pie crusts at select stores including Price Chopper, Hannaford, Pick n Save, Meijer, and others. Use their store locator to see if they have products near you!
Wewalka Plant-Based Pie Crusts:
- European Bakery Style Pie Crust
Non-Vegan Pie Crust Brands
The list below contains popular pie crust brands that are not plant-based because they contain one or more animal products.
- Pillsbury Pie Crust is not vegan because it contains lard.
- Trader Joe’s pie crusts are not vegan because they contain butter (both varieties).
Immaculate baking ready-to-bake pie crusts are not vegan because they contain whey.
- Diamond Nuts pie crusts are not vegan because they contain one or more of the following ingredients: honey, natural flavors.
- Mrs. Smith’s pie crusts may not be vegan because they contain mono- and diglycerides.
If you liked this guide, check out my other Vegan Brands Guides!
If there is a store-bought pie crust brand that you want me to add to this list, let me know in the comments below!