Vegan Puff Pastry Brands

vegan puff pastry brands

Puff Pastry — a dough that turns into a flaky, buttery bread when cooked — is not always vegan. Puff pastry is traditionally made with egg and butter (hence the usual buttery flavor of puff pastries).

However, many store-bought puff pastries are made without dairy or eggs because it makes them more shelf-stable. And in most cases, removing these ingredients leaves us with an accidentally vegan puff pastry.

But as we all know, milk and eggs aren’t the only non-vegan ingredients out there. So although some puff pastries might appear plant-based, you have to dig through the ingredients to look for hidden animal products.

I’ve already done the research for you! Below, I’ve compiled a list of store-bought vegan puff pastry brands and where you can find them in stores. If the brand has a product locator, I’ve linked it so you can quickly find the product you want!

This list is for informational purposes only. All ingredients are subject to change, so be sure to always read ingredient labels before purchasing.

Pepperidge Farm Puff Pastry

Pepperidge Farm puff pastry products - puff pastry sheets and puff pastry shells

Pepperidge Farm is your best bet when looking for vegan puff pastry. At first, I didn’t want to add Pepperidge Farm to this list because their puff pastries contain mono and diglycerides, which can be animal-derived if not specified that it comes from a plant source.

But then I found a statement on Campbell’s website (Pepperidge Farm’s parent company) stating that their puff pastry products are vegan:

CROWD FAVORITE: Our puff pastries are vegan and Kosher certified.

Where to Buy: You can buy Pepperidge Farm products at almost any major grocery store, including Walmart, Publix, Winn Dixie, Target, Giant Eagle, and Kroger. If you’re looking for a specific product, check out their product locator.

Jus-Rol Puff Pastry

Jus-Rol puff pastry

Wewalka (below) is being rebranded as Jus-Rol, although you can still find both brands at stores. One important difference is that Jus-Rol clearly states “suitable for vegans” on its product page.

Where to Buy: The easiest way to find this puff pastry brand is to use Jus-Rol’s store locator. You can often find this brand at stores like Kroger, Kroger affiliates, and Walmart!

Schar Puff Pastry (Gluten Free)

schar puff pastry dough gluten free

If you are looking for a gluten-free vegan puff pastry, go with Schar puff pastry dough! This dough is confirmed vegan under Schar’s list of vegan items, and each pack comes with two rolls of dough in parchment paper.

Where to Buy: You can often find Schar puff pastry in the frozen section of stores like Albertsons, Vons, Safeway, other Albertsons affiliates, Pavilions, and other natural grocers. If you want to be sure that your store carries this puff pastry, use Schar’s product locator to find these GF vegan puff pastries near you!

Wewalka Puff Pastry

Wewalka Puff Pastry

Wewalka Puff Pastry is plant-based! The only questionable ingredient is sugar, which may not be vegan since it is not organic sugar. However, it is still plant-based, so I included it in this list so you can decide for yourself.

Wewalka puff pastry is found in the refrigerated section of the grocery store. There is only one variety, but it is perfect for both sweet and savory foods, so you can make it into anything you want. Also, it has the added convenience of coming with parchment paper.

Where to Buy: You can buy Wewalka puff pastry at select grocery stores in the US, most notably from Walmart, Giant Eagle, Safeway, Albertsons, and Ingles.

Read more Vegan Holiday Food Guides:

4 thoughts on “Vegan Puff Pastry Brands”

  1. Thank you I’m going to a vegan potluck and this was very helpful.

  2. Thanks for this info. When I bought the Pepperage Farm puff pastry, I realized it said Pareve. Which meant it had zero animal products

    See definitions of Kosher terms below to help find vegan products in the future

    Kosher pareve products must not contain milk, meat, nor any of their derivatives. In other words, kosher pareve products are dairy-free and meat-free, at least by ingredients.
    Meat and meat derivatives may never be mixed with milk or milk derivatives. Separate equipment for the preparation and storage of meat-based and dairy-based foods must be used. This means that kosher meat must be dairy free.

  3. Great! I would have never guessed that Pepperidge Farms puff pastry is vegan! What a nice addition this will be for making canapés for parties! So happy for this information! Cherie Baines


Leave a Comment