Is All Pasta Sauce Vegan?
Not all pasta sauce brands are vegan. Many store-bought pasta sauces contain multiple animal products, most of which are dairy products.
Be on the lookout for pasta sauces that contain milk, but also be careful about other animal products that are not listed under an allergy warning, like meat flavorings.
Luckily, many spaghetti sauce brands have vegan options even if all of their selections are not plant-based. Check out the list below to find many vegan pasta sauce brands. I've also included varieties that are not vegan so you can be sure to stay away from them.
This guide is for informational purposes only. All ingredients are subject to change, so be sure to always read ingredient labels before purchasing and contact manufacturers with any questions.
Like pasta sauce, not all pasta brands are vegan. To be sure you pair your plant-based sauce with vegan noodles, check out my vegan pasta brands guide!
- 365 Everyday Value
- Rao's (my favorite!)
- Victoria (most vegan cream sauces)
- Cucina Antica
- Farm to Fork
- Gia Russa
- Jar Goods (vegan vodka and pesto sauces)
- La San Marzano
- Lucini Italia
- Monte Bene
- Newman's Own
- Primal Kitchen (vegan alfredo and vodka sauces)
- Silver Palate
- Thrive Market
- Francesco Rinaldi
- Yo Mama's (vegan wine sauces)
Yo Mama’s pasta sauces are unique because they usually use wine in their products (even in their marinara sauce). However, not all wine is vegan, so Yo Mama’s only labels a few of their sauces as being suitable for vegans.
Where to Buy: You can buy Yo Mama’s pasta sauces online on their website or on Amazon. If you want to buy in-store, check your local health foods store, such as Sprouts or Whole Foods.
Yo Mama’s Vegan Sauces:
- Bellisima Basil Pasta Sauce
- Spicy Marinara Pasta Sauce
- Radiant Rose Wine Sauce
Yo Mama’s Sauces that are NOT Vegan:
- Marinara Pasta Sauce (wine may not be vegan)
- Vodka Pasta Sauce
- Burgundy Wine Pasta Sauce (wine may not be vegan)
- Chianti Wine Pasta Sauce
Notes About the Vegan Pasta Sauce Guide
- Many pasta sauces contain sugar, which isn’t always vegan because it can be processed with bone char. Organic sugar is vegan because it cannot be processed with bone char. The products that are vegan except for this ingredient are labeled with an asterisk (*). They are still plant-based because no bone char is left in the final product. It is up to you whether or not to consume these products.
- Natural flavor is an ingredient that can come from a plant source or an animal source, so all pasta sauces containing this ingredient, unless specified vegan, will be on the “not vegan” list.